Metallic

Random Title, random pattern, doesn’t rhyme but follows a song-like structure. This poem comes from the direct wording of the person who inspired “Argent Style”, which is included in my waaaaaay earlier poems. The italicized print is his quote, all else is mine.

Started with an accident

Accident’s the right word, yeah

Caught up in a landslide of a smile

And oh you had me trapped there, yeah

Got me trapped there smiling idly

While the hours passed me by

And in my wildest daydreams

Never really thought that

Perhaps not,
Perhaps we were not meant to be.
And the silent sonata plays,
Plays its mournful tune

Perhaps not

Perhaps we can come together

But this haunting waltz

Continues

Onward with the rush of time

Of memories and laughter

Of crushed dreams and hopes

Of rising power and resistance

First drifting further apart

Then drawing closer back together

In the haze between us

I could still see the doubts

Perhaps not,
Perhaps we were not meant to be.
And the silent sonata plays,
Plays its mournful tune

Perhaps not

Perhaps we can come together

But this haunting waltz

Continues

And I still remember

The look on your innocent face

And I can’t forget

The run I made after you

And the effect it has on me

Is to make me want to live

To look into the future

And see if perhaps,

Perhaps not,
Perhaps we were not meant to be.
And the silent sonata plays,
Plays its mournful tune

Perhaps not

Perhaps we can come together

But this haunting waltz

Continues

~ by Tayath on July 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
