D

I thought we were friends

We were

Just as sisters together

Playing, singing, working

Together

 

One day the world turned

And the weather with it

And I felt you slip away

So I reached out, and took your hand

And there we stayed

Anchored by one another

Anchored

 

Bonding over flowers

Laughing over rifles

Joking over journeys

Until that one fateful day

 

I could no longer run after you

And in the trauma

You slipped away from me

And I could not catch you

 

You left me there, standing

In the doorway

Holding out my hand, outstretched

For you to take

 

But you didn’t look back

As you walked down the pathway

Never looking back

As I gazed after you

After you

And a friendship that I had lost
~ by Tayath on July 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
