Flight

I didn’t know I had feathers

Until it was too late to use them

When they shoved me from the nest

And told me to do my best

You were falling right beside me

And we both struggled to survive

But you spread your wings first

And I fell for the worst

From my place in the dust I stare

Wondering if it could’ve been different

If I’d spread my wings before

If I could still take flight and soar

It’s not the fact you can fly

But the fact you still believe I can

That though you advance into the new

I could not accompany you

~ by Tayath on November 5, 2011.

One Response to “Flight”

  1. ten thumbs up.

    truly thought provoking!

Leave a Reply

 
