Identity

I just realized- or have I known it for a while?- that an identity is surprisingly easy to fake. Even face-to-face, all one needs is a smile and a laugh, and that’s enough of a facade. It makes me wonder if my friends are hiding behind their own laughter, as I do, but I also wonder if they go much, much deeper.

Do they spin their own worlds? Do they create from the shadows an empire so strong that it might as well be truth? Or do they wear it on their sleeves, where others can poke and tug at it freely? Or are they like me: Creating my own world of lies, whilst destroying it, whilst rebuilding it, whilst delving into the worlds of others?

It’s all relative; life, happiness, identity. And it makes me wonder. Will anyone ever get to know the real me? Moreover… do I truly know anyone?

~ by Tayath on November 3, 2011.

2 Responses to “Identity”

  1. Identity, is something that is never stable, changing with time.

    ❤ Well thought out bud.

  2. This is a really late response. The lines between “me” and “everyone else” are clearly drawn. To bridge that gap, it makes sense that a different kind of “me” or a facade is needed. Whether everyone feels that way, I’m not sure since they are the “everyone else” and I am “me.” Sometimes it seems like the lines between the people that make up “everyone else” are less clear because they work together well, share secrets, and whatnot. Because the “me” is so isolated, I make my own world, although I’m not sure if we’re talking about the same thing when talking about “secret worlds.” Sorry it’s so long. I’m not sure if I have the right to be saying things like this or even if you’ll see it. Sorry if I don’t.

Leave a Reply

 
